Sign In

Time Changes in India 2017

Choose a country from the list to get relevant information:

Time zones in use in India

In India, there is only one time zone in use: India Standard Time, IST (UTC+05:30). Time in India does not change because it does not observe Daylight Saving Time.

For comparing the current time in India and United Kingdom or any other country combination, visit time comparison. For an introduction to UTC and world time, read UTC by country. Time changes in India are shown below by city, state or region.

RegionsStandard TimeDaylight Saving Time
Time zone201620172018Time zone201620172018
  • Delhi
  • Andhara Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Bangala
  • Bihar
  • Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Gujarat
  • Haryana
  • India
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Megahalaya
  • Orissa
  • Pondisheri
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Tripura
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Uttaranchal
India Standard Time
IST (UTC+05:30)
UTC+05:30 all year longNo Daylight Saving Time

History of Time Changes

The information in this page comes from data published in the Time Zone Database managed by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA).

YearTime zone AbbreviationUTC OffsetTime zone NameDaylight Saving TimeBegins (local time)
1945ISTUTC+05:30India Standard TimenoSunday, October 14 1945, 12:00 AM
1942ISTUTC+06:30India Standard TimeyesTuesday, September 1 1942, 12:00 AM
1942ISTUTC+05:30India Standard TimenoThursday, May 14 1942, 12:00 AM
1941BURTUTC+06:30noWednesday, October 1 1941, 12:00 AM
1901HMTUTC+05:53:20noSaturday, December 14 1901, 02:39 AM

Other Links

Content last updated on 2016-12-19